UK print release 14th May, 2020

The Naturalists Daughter Tea Cooper

Buy the book

The Naturalist’s Daughter

Two women, a century apart, are drawn into a mystery surrounding the biggest scientific controversy of the nineteenth century, the classification of the platypus.

1808 Agnes Banks, NSW

Rose Winton wants nothing more than to work with her father, eminent naturalist Charles Winton, on his groundbreaking study of the platypus. Not only does she love him with all her heart, but the discoveries they have made could turn the scientific world on its head. When Charles is unable to make the long sea journey to present his findings to the prestigious Royal Society in England, Rosie must venture forth in his stead. What she discovers there will change the lives of future generations.

1908 Sydney, NSW

Tamsin Alleyn has been given a mission: travel to the Hunter Valley and retrieve an old sketchbook of debatable value, gifted to the Public Library by a recluse. But when she gets there, she finds there is more to the book than meets the eye, and more than one interested party. Shaw Everdene, a young antiquarian bookseller and lawyer seems to have his own agenda when it comes to the book – and Tamsin. In an attempt to discover the book’s true provenance Tamsin decides to work with him. The deeper they delve, the more intricate the mystery becomes. As the lives of two women a century apart converge, discoveries rise up from the past and reach into the future, with irrevocable consequences…

Praise for The Naturalist’s Daughter

“An engrossing narrative… fabulous.” — Peter Fitzsimons

“Cooper is a welcome inclusion to the rising ranks of female-centered historical Australian novels. The touch of Gothic romance adds to the fun.” — The Herald Sun

“While it is common to mix genres, Australia’s Tea Cooper does it more boldly than most.”  — Jennifer Byrne, Australian Women’s Weekly

“Cooper unravels a complex tangle of family secrets and lies, resulting in an exciting, moving and satisfying read.” — Books and Publishing

2018 Davitt Awards – long listed
#25 Better Reading Top 100 2019
Finalist 2019 RWAmerica Daphne du Maurier Mystery/Suspense Award

Back to all books