Award Winning Bestselling Australian Author

The woman in the green dress by Tea Cooper
The Naturalists Daughter Tea Cooper

Thanks for visiting my website…

Books and stories have always held a special place in my heart. One of my earliest memories is a birthday present from my grandfather. An illustrated copy of Hans Christian Anderson’s fairy tales. I couldn’t read, I could hardly balance the book on my lap, but it opened a world beyond my drab existence in post war London. A world of fantasy and dreams, a world I’ve escaped to many times over the years.

The stories I write always have a basis in fact. They spring from a titbit overheard, a person I met, a place I visited or they fill an unrecorded gap in history. They tell of secrets and memories, of mysteries and passions.

Come, step into my world—you are most welcome.

Boasts strong female protagonists, an infectious fascination with the past, and the narrative skill to weave multiple timelines into a satisfying whole…smartly edited, cleanly written…easy to devour.’
Sydney Morning Herald on The Woman in the Green Dress

‘Cooper is a welcome inclusion to the rising ranks of female-centred historical Australian novels.’
The Herald Sun on The Naturalist’s Daughter

The Girl in the Painting

For readers of The True Story of Maddie Bright, The Woman in the Green Dress and The Birdman’s Wife comes this atmospheric and richly detailed Australian historical mystery from a bestselling Australian author…

Read More